May 22, 2009










Board Members Present: Michele Abbott, Marion County Emergency Management Director; Sheila Biggs, Dickinson County Commissioner; Joe Connor, Unified Government Health Department Administrator; Terry David, Rice County EMS Director; Jack Frick, Scott County Commissioner; R. Steve Garten, Barber County Commissioner; Mark Low, Finney County Appraiser;, JR McMahon II, Miami County Director of Public Works; John Miller, Norton County Commissioner; Tim Norton, Sedgwick County Commissioner; Dale Phillips, Barton County Noxious Weed Director; Dennis Peterson, Riley County Noxious Weed Director; Tom Wagner, Atchison County Commissioner.


Board Members Absent: Larry McAulay, Johnson County Director of Legal Services; Dick Works, Allen County Commissioner.


Others Present: Randall Allen, KAC Executive Director; Melissa Wangemann, KAC General Counsel; Burt Burrows and Wende Arnold, Nationwide Retirement Solutions, for the presentation on the NACo Nationwide deferred compensation plan.



President Connor called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.    


Marsha Ewy, Commissioner from Hodgeman County welcomed the Board. Sheriff Ron Ridley from Hodgeman County also appeared and Randall Allen introduced him. Randall also recognized Lea Ann Seiler from the Hodgeman County Economic Development Department.


Mark Low moved and Tim Norton seconded a motion to approve the agenda. The motion passed.


Tim Norton moved and Steve Garten second a motion to approve the minutes with an amendment reflecting that Sheila Biggs was not in attendance at the March meeting. The motion passed.


Steve Garten recommended that the Finance Committee postpone its motion to approve bills and payroll until the next Board meeting due to errors on the bill and payroll reports that needed corrections.


Randall Allen gave the financial report. Dennis Peterson moved and Jack Frick seconded a motion to adopt and file the report. The motion passed.


Burt Burrows and Wende Arnold gave a report on the NACo deferred compensation program. Randall Allen emphasized that this program helps finance the budget of KAC.


Randall Allen briefed the Board on the process of selecting the next NACo representative and noted the two candidates; Tim Norton (Sedgwick County) and Duane Patrick (McPherson County).


Steve Garten gave the NACo report, and discussed the upcoming annual conference in Nashville in July. He noted that NACo does a good job monitoring federal legislation.


Melissa Wangemann reviewed the bylaws draft with the Board, explaining the edits made by the study committee. There was discussion on: 1) whether to allow more than one Governing Board member from each county; 2) whether the NACo representative should serve a longer term; 3) whether the responsibilities clause should include the statement that KAC assists in preserving duties and powers of all elected and appointed officials; and 4) how to align the affiliate members on the Governing Board to equalize the expiration of terms of office. On the first issue the Board decided to keep the current language; on the second issue, the Board decided to extend the NACo reps term for three terms; on the third issue, the language will be deleted in order to preserve local control and the ability to consolidate or alter government structure; on the fourth issue, Melissa Wangemann will rewrite the provision to accommodate new affiliate groups that join KAC.


Melissa Wangemann and Randall Allen presented the legislative report. Randall emphasized that KAC should keep to two priority statements this year: budget and E911. The Board discussed E911 at length.


Randall Allen gave the executive director report. He gave a report on membership dues, explaining that 104 counties have paid dues. He discussed the County Government and Wind Farm conferences hosted by KAC throughout Kansas. He explained the progress on the compensation study, and presented a draft preferred provider agreement with KCAMP. Michele Abbott moved and Jack Frick seconded a motion to approve the contract for the keynote speaker for the KAC annual conference. The motion passed.


Individual board members shared issues from their counties for general discussion:


John Miller reported that Norton County signed an agreement with Rob Mahoney for consultation on health insurance for 2010.


Michele Abbott said commissioners who attended the Intro to Commissioner?s Job said they wanted more info on EMS. She noted that Homeland Security equipment and capabilities will be on display at the Kansas Coliseum in June.


Terry David noted this week was EMS week. Terry David thanked Melissa Wangemann for her work on KEMSA legislation.


Tim Norton noted that the KCCA conference occurred this last month and it went well.


JR McMahon discussed federal funding and noted that KDOT?s loss of state money might affect the receipt of federal funds.


Sheila Biggs gave an update on the Orion product used in the appraiser?s office.


Mark Low talked about the Kansas County Appraisers Association annual conference in June. The Flint Hills Center will be presenting on June 10. Mark emphasized that KAC needs to concentrate on taxes and budget next year.

Jack Frick said that his county appraiser is still using the old system until the glitches in Orion are worked out.


The meeting was adjourned at 12:35 p.m.


Minutes prepared by Melissa Wangemann





Michele Abbott, Secretary