January 19, 2007

Kansas Association of Counties

Governing Board Meeting Minutes

January 19, 2007

Lower Level Meeting Room

Hayden Building, 8th and Van Buren, Topeka, Kansas



President Dennis Peterson called the meeting to order at 1:20 p.m. Board members present were as follows:


            Michele Abbott-Becker, Marion County Emergency Management/Homeland Security Director

            Joe Connor, Unified Government Health Department Administrator

            Terry David, Rice County EMS Director

                        Ted Ensley, Shawnee County Commissioner

                        Shannon Francis, Seward County Commissioner

                        Steve Garten, Barber County Commissioner

                        John Miller, Norton County Commissioner

                        Sheila Biggs, Dickinson County Commissioner

                        Tom Wagner, Atchison County Commissioner

                        Dick Works, Allen County Commissioner

                        George Pogge, Jefferson County Road Superintendent

                        Tom Winters, Sedgwick County Commissioner

                        Dennis Peterson, Riley County Noxious Weed Director

                        Larry McAulay, Johnson County Director of Legal Services


                        Board members not present were:  


                        Gary Post, Lyon County Appraiser


KAC Staff and others present:


                        Randall Allen, KAC Executive Director

                        Joel Wright, The Kansas Collaborative

                        Kathleen Harnish-Doucet, The Kansas Collaborative


                        The regular board meeting followed a special strategic planning session (II) which was convened at 10:00 a.m.

on the same date

in the same room